Making Your Own Room Decor Photos

I have been looking at a few sites that sell art. One thing that I noticed on all of the sites were room decor photos with the art hanging on the wall. I thought this would be a nice way to break up my etsy shop pages and to give buyers a way to visualize my work on their walls. My etsy/facebook pal Shannon Clark also had the same idea. She pointed me to iStockphoto where I found three really simple room decor shots with blank walls so I could add my photos and change the color and patterns of the walls.  I also purchased a square white and a square black frame.

I wanted to share with you how easy it is to change the background. I am using Photoshop CS4. First open your image. Next you want to go to your Quick Selection Tool and click on the background of the image.

Next pick the color that you want the new background to be. Go to your tools palette and select the Paint Bucket Tool and click into the masked selection and fill it in.

It’s just that easy. However, you know me.  I began to wonder what the image would look like with a subtle pattern overlay. In order to overlay a pattern you simply go to the layers palette and click on the fourth icon at the bottom. Click on the radio button that looks like a black & white moon. That brings up a variety of options. Click on pattern and that brings up a fly out window where you will pick your pattern and the size.

The final step is to add the frame and your featured photo and then add it to your etsy listing. I went with a vintage pink wallpaper for my final edit.

These are super easy to make and once you have the templates saved you can just pop in and edit as you need. Make sure to save your room decor images as PSD files with layers so they are easier to edit. If you have any questions feel free to ask any questions in the comments and I will get back to you.

Happy Decorating!

Trina

p.s. Be sure to check out my feature on Hey Handmade this week.

4 thoughts on “Making Your Own Room Decor Photos

Add yours

    1. Valerie, that’s exactly what I was thinking. I think that if people could visualize what the work looks like on the wall they might be more inclined to purchase something for their home. Hope all is well with you busy girl 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑