Faux Polaroid SX70 Photos

As most of you know, if you read this blog regularly, I love all types of cameras. The Polaroid SX70 is one of my favorites in my collection mainly because it is so beautifully designed.  Can a camera be sexy? Yes.  The Impossible Project sells three types of film for this camera, PX70 Color Shade, PX100 Silver Shade and the PX70 Push. These films are experimental and are getting closer to replicating the original Time Zero film made for the SX70. My main problem with these film is that they are expensive. $25 for 8 exposures is WAY too much for me to shoot on a regular basis. So I have come up with a Photoshop mix, using the RadLab filter to replicate my vision of SX70 film.  Soft, muted tones which are dreamy and softly focused. I added the Polaroid border over at Picnik.  Even though it doesn’t have the texture, it works.  I simply adore the look of the SX70 and feel this is a logical and economical way to achieve it. I would love to know your thoughts.  Am I  close? Is there something I can improve on to make it more authentic?

Trina

6 thoughts on “Faux Polaroid SX70 Photos

  1. I don’t know much about Polaroids (or anything at all about them, actually), but I do really like the effect on these shots! Makes them very serene and peaceful-feeling. Well done.

Leave a Reply

