Romantic Photo Lockets

I wanted to share some images of the photo lockets I spoke of this week.  This is the first time I have attempted to cast with resin. I wanted these lockets to be more durable than some of the pendants I have made before. I also wanted to learn how to use the resin because it will help me to expand my photo jewelry line.  The resin was easy to mix and the pouring seemed to go well. Of the 10 lockets I poured only 3 were acceptable to use. I forgot to coat the back of the images to prevent the resin from darkening the image. I also learned that a little resin goes a long way. I had an issue with resin spilling over the sides of the lockets.  So I took the ones that didn’t work apart, before they were completely cured so I could try again.  Here are the 3 lockets that succeeded and I will list more throughout this week.

Trina

5 thoughts on “Romantic Photo Lockets

  1. Hi Trina,
    I came across your blog while searching resin lockets. These are beautiful! I am also making lockets but mine do not have the inside edge that helps hold the resin. Mine is flat. Do you have any suggestion on how I can keep the resin from spilling over? And also you mention something about coating back of image so resin won’t darken it?

    Any help will be appreciated,
    Carol 🙂

    1. I coat my images with white glue on both sides then let it dry before adding the resin. That should help with the darkening of the image. Let me know of that works for you. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

