Dirty Girl Scout Cookies

Earlier in the week I talked about my job as a bartender and how I love to mix cocktails. I also love to bake and my dear BF gifted me a lovely cookbook called The Boozy Baker. That’s right, baking with liquor. What could be better? I am not going to pretend to be a food blogger. My lovely friend Ms. Megan of The Flying Fork has that niche covered.  She made me the best Mocha Chocolata Cupcakes for my birthday. Divine.  So without further adieu I give your Dirty Girl Scout Cookies ala The Boozy Baker.

For the cookies:

1/2 pound (2 sticks) unsalted butter softened

1 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

2 large eggs

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 teaspoons instant espresso powder or coffee

2 cups all-purpose flour

2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

For the glaze:

1 1/4 cups confectioners sugar

2 tablespoons Irish cream liqueur

1 tablespoon coffee liqueur

1 tablespoon creme de menthe

32 Junior Mints

Pre-heat oven to 325. Line baking sheets with parchment

Beat butter, brown sugar, sugar until fluffy. Add the eggs, vanilla and instant coffee and beat to combine.

In a medium bowl combine flour cocoa powder, baking soda and salt. Add to butter mixture gradually.

Drop dough into rounded balls (2 tablespoons each) placing 2 inches apart. Bake for 15 minutes.

Cool on baking sheet for around 10 minutes and then place on wire cooling rack.

Combine confectioners sugar and liquor and whisk until smooth. Using a spoon drizzle onto cookie and then place 1 junior mint in the center. You will want to put something under the rack to contain the mess.

Tada! These cookies are delicious! If you see me out and about on this holiday weekend you might get to try one. Happy Independence Day Weekend!

T

2 thoughts on “Dirty Girl Scout Cookies

Leave a Reply

