Multi Colored Tulip 100/365 Project

I spent last evening watching my favorite shows, Lost, Glee & Justified, and tweaking the settings on my Nikon d80. I have had the camera for a couple of years and never really knew there were so many settings you could change. I looked around the internet and found a pdf from Ken Rockwell that walked you through every setting and gave recommendations on what he used for his camera. If you don’t know anything about this man you should look him up. He has some interesting ideas about the world of photography. A lot of people love to hate him, however, I believe his knowledge is invaluable and informative. Enough of that.

So after reading through this pdf once, I went back and went step by step through the settings and changed a lot of them. I won’t bore you with the details but I learned a lot about what my camera was doing on certain settings. The main things I adjusted were the metering mode, auto ISO, sRGB and wrap around focusing. I can already see a difference in my images.

On another note, I broke down and bought an iPhone 3G yesterday. It was on sale and I had been coveting it for a long time. Let me rephrase that. I had been coveting the camera apps that are offered, not the phone itself. So I went and downloaded Hipstamatic, which turns your phone into an analog dream. I also bought another app called Camera Bag that has some cool film rendering as well. I spent all day yesterday playing around with the settings and promptly ran out of battery power. You can look at the results on my Flickr page. I also like that I can upload my images directly to Flickr from the phone and I can also write blog post from it as well. If you have an iPhone, what app could you not live without? I will be interested in the responses. I will be adding some images to my etsy shop tomorrow so stop by and see what’s new.

T

5 thoughts on “Multi Colored Tulip 100/365 Project

Leave a Reply

