Dried Fern 35/365 Project

Today I wanted to try working with the popular, and free, Gimp Image editor. While I have a copy of  Photoshop that I use on my desktop in my studio, I wanted to have an image editor on my little Acer Netbook to edit my photos when I am out and about.  The Gimp is perfect for this task.  First of all it doesn’t require a lot of RAM.  Secondly, it does all of the image editing that you get with Photoshop without the cost.  Another wonderful thing about the Gimp is that it has scripts that you can run that are similar to the actions in Photoshop.  There is also a great plugin called FX Foundry which has 115 of these scripts that range from simply converting an image to black and white to converting images to pencil sketches.  In this image I used the cross processing and lomography scripts.  I could not figure out how to customize these scripts so I just used them as is.  I will keep experimenting and update as I learn.

T

p.s. Saturday’s 365 image is here.

One thought on “Dried Fern 35/365 Project

  1. I am drawn by the colors here. And the lighting. Being February in the Upper Peninsula leaves me longing for certain angles of light. I adore the textures and the shine on the edge of the blue pot.
    .-= Kim Nixon´s last blog ..Morning Rituals =-.

Leave a Reply

