Friday Feature

This week’s featured artist is Joanna Kapica. I really like the feel of Joanna’s photos. They are serene, interesting and sublime. Her etsy shop has a variety of photos in different sizes and sold at different price points. Joanna also author’s a blog where she writes about her own work, as well as, artist that she finds interesting. I encourage you to take a look. She is currently on day 139 of a ‘365 Poject’ which, as you all know, is an ambitious project. Joanna was kind enough to share a little about her work and process with us.


When did you become interested in photography?
There is no specific moment I can specify. I have always been attracted to photography. At first mostly as a viewer. I enjoyed it while growing up. And finally few years ago I started to enjoy it in much different way- I discovered the creative part of showing my view of the nature,landscape around me through photographing them.

What influences your photos?
Many of my photos are taken just because shape or color attracts my attention. I like to have my camera with me most of the time. Many of my photographs are created more so as a spurge of the moment that planned event.

Why is photography important to you?
It is wordless way of expressing my view. It is my way of relaxing too.
I also find a lot of enjoyment in discovering how others see my photographs- everyone discovers something else, finds their own interpretation.

What is your favorite camera?
I haven’t used too many cameras, so I guess the pool of cameras is limited here. I liked my older cameras and I am simply in love my current one. Not long ago I upgraded my older entry level Nikon dSLR to D300 and so far this is my most favorite one!

Do you have a special style in your photographs that can single you out like strokes in a painting?
There is not a definition I could use to describe my photography- as I like experimenting with styles.
Most of the time I like to use and enhance earthly tones in my work- all tones of greens and browns.

I just wanted to say big thank you for this nice feature. And I wanted to thank all visitors to this blog for taking a minute to read this interview.
For anyone who would like to stay up to date with all new work, promotions etc I invite to join my facebook fan page.

4 thoughts on “Friday Feature

  1. Great photography feature. The pictures are amazing. I love the color saturation levels that she used, it gives the photos flair!

    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

