Arecibo Observatory 290/365

We went to see the observatory today. It is located about 40 miles from San Juan. It was the first time we filled up the rental car with gas so we hadn’t noticed that fuel was a mere 96 cents/gallon. It was weird how this part of Puerto Rico reminded us both of Southern Missourri, with palm trees of course.

There was a moment of panic when I discovered I had not put the memory card in my camera. Yikes! Luckily I know myself and my ability to do stupid things on occasion and I had a spare. Whew!

The observatory was pretty cool and the pictures don’t really convey how enormous this thing is. A quick stat is that the collection surface, or dish, is 18 acres in area. I won’t bore you with the details, however, if you are interested you can read more about it here. As always, more photos over at flickr.

Peace.

T

3 thoughts on “Arecibo Observatory 290/365

Leave a Reply

